ARMH Circuit of guest houses

The city of Fez owes its name to the pickaxe “Fas”, in Arabic – because of the permanent work of which it is the object, without doubt since its creation. After getting to know the cooking, the stucco, the hammams and other specificities the Fassi’s life, you are at the end of your visits.
Nevertheless, there are still two points which will only be overlooked, in view of their importance, the zelliges and the spiritual life.
As far as the zelliges are important, it is necessary to know that at the base it is a glazed tile – done exclusively manually – on which are traced and carved the various patterns, just as manually. The two-bladed hammer, called “menkache”, is the only instrument used by the tailor. All the pieces have a name. The setter is another craftsman, able to recut the parts which must adjust closer.
To build wall panels, fountains or tables, the craftsman works on the floor, on the reverse with the so-called “blind technique”. In this way, the face, once turned over is always extremely flat.
Some colors are quite recent and others have been created at the request of some notables. However the base remains dark green, dark blue, golden yellow, white and black. But there are about fifty colors. As to the number of reasons, it is doubtless of a hundred.
In recent houses the white and the blue dominate the decoration whereas in the oldest ones one finds the addition of the yellow and the green as well as the black. Red appears later. No doubt it is a question of technological discovery and, also, of price. Here we find the very classic style of the Andalusian district, one of the oldest in the medina. The Jews settled there in the 12th century when it became dangerous for them to live intra muros. The city at that time had an inner fortification up to the wadi. This neighborhood was therefore isolated and out of the way. It is still called the scientific district.
Symbolism is frequent in the work of zelliges but few people notice it. The figures that form the decoration of the fountains, start from the square and from the circle. The most frequent is the seal of Salomon or star with 8 points that can be found on the signaling circuits of the medina.
The patterns of the pieces are generally innocuous, but they can also represent stars with 5 or 6 branches. The five-pointed star corresponds to the 5 pillars of Islam (celebrating the name of Allah by saying that Mohammed is his last prophet, 5 prayers a day, making the Zakat -charity valued at 2.5% of the benefit – doing Ramadan, and go to Mecca), as for the 6-point one, it is common to all monotheistic religions, but also to alchemists and astrologers.
The moon, another symbolic piece, is omnipresent in the decoration fassis. It is related to the Muslim calendar but also to the woman (cycle of about 28 days for each).
The fountains are built on the number of gold and always represent the cosmos. As for the number of points of the central rosette, it varies from 8 to 64 (always multiples of 8, this figure is related to the 8 gates of heaven in the Koran). The 8 is a symbolic number in several cultures. It symbolizes fertility and power, among other meanings.
The work of the zelliges is transmitted empirically. At the base there is the intention of decorating his home with the limitations that the Qur’an puts: No characters, no animals. The only representations of life possible are flowers and leaves. The doors, on the other hand, have the shape of the stylized man.
This brings us to talk about religious practices at home and in the medina. There are always beautiful meetings for circumcisions, weddings and religious festivals. The music is in full swing and the guests are adorned with their most beautiful kaftans. Drums, trumpets and violins as well as oud, accompany the evenings until very late in the night. Sweets, teas and sugary drinks are constantly circulating. Nowadays, men are more often in tie suits and rare are those in town who dress in traditional ways. The women are together and the men join them later in the evening.
It would take a page to talk about marriages. But Eid al-Kabir requires so much attention. It will be just useful to emphasize the importance that this festival takes in the medina. The sheep are purchased according to the finances of each one, before the party, and they are kept at home either in the patio or on the terrace where they receive all the necessary care, but for those who cannot, the sheep Are bought the day before, even if they go into debt. Some more fortunate also buy a calf or a cow in addition to the sheep, which remains the traditional and sacrificial animal par excellence. Before this festival, towards the end of Ramadan, the children are dressed and little girls are dressed up as adults. Photos are taken for Achoura. It is a little their party and they receive gifts like Christmas, but much more modestly. It is more a matter of buying them fine clothes. But no religious festival gives in the setting up of a decoration both in houses and in the streets. Everything is family-friendly and warm. Often one hears and one sees circulating in the medina, families singing, groups playing music, to show their joy at the occasion of marriages or circumcisions. However, there is another kind of stronger ceremony. This is the funeral.
When a person dies, it is buried as soon as possible, generally the next day. On this occasion the women will present their condolences and the men carry the deceased, on a board. The body is wrapped in a white shroud and covered with a green cloth. This color is the color of Islam. If the deceased is single, a woman paid for this activity, makes youyous to compensate for the absence of youyous marriage that did not take place. This person cannot practice in other ceremonies because it could bring bad luck. Its role is therefore limited to the youyous of the unmarried bachelors, but this position does not last all the time.
Then the women recite “the prayer of the prophet” just as the dead person is taken out of the house. Then the men take over with their prayers sung. This tradition is typical of Morocco and Egypt but does not correspond to the rules of Islam. The songs that they chant on this occasion are very beautiful and the voices of men bring an intensity full of fervor. The men went to the mosque at the time of a traditional prayer and put the deceased person in a room adjoining the mosque (which corresponds to the sacristy of the Catholics). When the prayer is over, the imam announces that a man or a woman is dead. At that time a brief prayer, of four verses is recited. Then the deceased is buried on the right side, sacred side among the Muslims. The women will come to the cemetery the next day.
The tradition is that there are 5 prayers a day but in Fez there is one that is underlined twice 20 minutes apart it is the only place where this practice takes place.
Last detail, if you go into the Medina on Thursday, you can aspire to scent incense that housewives burn in order to clean their homes spiritually, but also to fight against the evil eye. It is with this intention that you will see from the hands of Fatima on some of the doors.
These fittings represent the five fingers but there are also two snakes and a scorpion that replace the three central fingers. Here we enter another dimension more esoteric. But this is another story…!

ARMH Circuit des maisons d’hôtes

La ville de Fès doit son nom à la pioche- fas, en arabe- en raison des travaux permanents dont elle est l’objet, sans doute depuis sa création. Après avoir fait connaissance avec la cuisine, les stucs, les hammams et autres spécificités de la vie fassi, vous voilà arrivés au terme de vos visites.
Il reste, néanmoins, deux points encore qui ne seront que survolés, vu leur importance, il s’agit des zelliges et de la vie spirituelle.
En ce qui concerne les zelliges, il faut savoir qu’à la base il s’agit d’un carreau d’argile vernissé – fait exclusivement manuellement – sur lequel sont tracés et taillés les divers motifs, tout aussi manuellement. Le marteau à deux lames, appelé « menkache », est l’unique instrument qu’utilise le tailleur. Toutes les pièces portent un nom. Le poseur est un autre artisan, capable de retailler les pièces qui doivent s’ajuster au plus près.
Pour construire les panneaux muraux, les fontaines ou les tables, l’artisan travaille par terre, sur l’envers avec la technique dite « à l’aveugle ». De cette manière, la face, une fois retournée est toujours extrêmement plate.
Certaines couleurs sont assez récentes et d’autres ont été créées à la demande de quelques notables. Toutefois la base reste le vert foncé, le bleu foncé, le jaune d’or, le blanc et le noir. Mais il existe environ une cinquantaine de couleurs. Quant au nombre de motifs, il est sans doute d’une centaine.
Dans les maisons récentes le blanc et le bleu domine la décoration alors que dans les plus anciennes on trouve en plus, du jaune et du vert ainsi que du noir. Le rouge fait son apparition plus tardivement. Sans doute est-ce une question de découverte technologique et, également, de prix.
Ici nous trouvons le style très classique du quartier andalou, un des plus anciens de la médina. Les Juifs s’y sont installés au XIIème siècle lorsqu’il devenait dangereux pour eux de vivre intra muros. La ville à cette époque avait une fortification intérieure jusqu’à l’oued. Ce quartier était donc isolé et excentré. On l’appelle encore le quartier des scientifiques.

Le symbolisme est fréquent dans le travail des zelliges mais peu de personnes le remarque. Les figures qui forment le décor des fontaines, partent du carré et du cercle. La plus fréquente est le sceau de Salomon ou étoile à 8 pointes que l’on retrouve sur la signalisation des circuits de la médina.
Les motifs des pièces sont généralement anodins, mais ils peuvent aussi représenter des étoiles à 5 ou 6 branches. L’étoile à 5 branches correspond aux 5 piliers de l’islam (célébrer le nom d’Allah en disant que Mohamed est son dernier prophète, 5 prières par jour, faire la Zakat –charité évaluée à 2.5% du bénéfice – faire Ramadan, et aller à la Mecque), quant à celle à 6 pointes, elle est commune à toutes les religions monothéistes, mais aussi aux alchimistes et aux astrologues.
La lune, autre pièce symbolique, est omniprésente dans les décors fassis. Elle est en rapport avec le calendrier musulman mais également avec la femme (cycle de 28 jours environ pour chacune).
Les fontaines sont bâties sur le nombre d’or et représentent toujours le cosmos. Quant au nombre de pointe de la rosace centrale, il varie de 8 à 64 (toujours des multiples de 8, ce chiffre est en relation avec les 8 portes du ciel dans le Coran). Le 8 est un chiffre symbolique dans plusieurs cultures. Il symbolise la fécondité et la puissance, entre autres acceptions.
Le travail des zelliges se transmet de façon empirique. A la base il y a l’intention de décorer son domicile avec les limites que met le Coran : Pas de personnages, ni d’animaux. Les seules représentations de la vie possibles sont les fleurs et les feuilles. Les portes, quant à elles, ont la forme de l’homme stylisé.

Ce qui nous amène à parler des pratiques religieuses à la maison et dans la médina.
Ils y a toujours de belles réunions pour les circoncisions, les mariages et les fêtes religieuses. La musique bat son plein et les invitées se parent de leurs plus beaux kaftans. Tambours, trompettes et violons ainsi que l’oud, accompagnent les soirées jusque fort tard dans la nuit. Les pâtisseries, thés et boissons sucrées circulent sans cesse. De nos jours, les hommes sont plus souvent en costumes cravates et rares sont ceux, en ville, qui s’habillent de façon traditionnelle. Les femmes sont ensemble et les hommes les rejoignent un peu plus tard dans la soirée.

Il faudrait une page pour parler des mariages. Mais l’Aïd el Kabîr nécessite autant d’attention. Il sera juste utile de souligner l’importance que prend cette fête dans la médina. Les moutons sont achetés selon les finances de chacun, tôt avant la fête, et ils sont gardés à la maison soit dans le patio, soit sur la terrasse où ils reçoivent tous les soins nécessaires, mais pour ceux qui ne le peuvent pas, les moutons sont achetés la veille, quitte à s’endetter. Certains plus fortunés achètent également un veau ou une vache en plus du mouton, qui reste l’animal traditionnel et sacrificiel, par excellence.
Avant cette fête, vers la fin du Ramadan, les enfants sont habillés et les petites filles maquillées comme des adultes. Des photos sont prises pour Achoura. C’est un peu leur fête et ils reçoivent des cadeaux comme à noël, mais beaucoup plus modestement. Il est davantage question de leur acheter de beaux habits. Mais aucune fête religieuse ne donne dans la mise en place d’un décor tant dans les maisons que dans les rues. Tout est familiale et chaleureux. Souvent on entend et on voit circuler dans la médina, des familles qui chantent, des groupes jouent de la musique, pour montrer leur joie à l’occasion de mariages ou de circoncisions. Cependant il existe une autre sorte de cérémonie plus forte. Il s’agit des funérailles.

Lorsqu’une personne décède, elle est ensevelie le plus tôt possible. Généralement le lendemain.
A cette occasion les femmes vont présenter leurs condoléances et les hommes transportent le défunt, sur une planche. Le corps est enveloppé d’un linceul blanc et recouvert d’un tissu vert. Cette couleur est la couleur de l’islam. Si la personne décédée est célibataire, une femme rétribuée pour cette activité, fait des youyous pour compenser l’absence de youyous du mariage qui n’a pas eu lieu. Cette personne ne peut pas pratiquer dans d’autres cérémonies car elle pourrait porter malheur. Son rôle est donc limité aux youyous des défunts célibataires, mais cette position ne dure pas toute le temps.
Ensuite les femmes récitent « la prière du prophète » juste au moment où on sort le mort du domicile. Ensuite les hommes prennent le relais avec leurs prières chantées. Cette tradition est typique du Maroc et de l’Egypte mais ne correspond pas aux règles de l’islam. Les chants qu’ils psalmodient à cette occasion sont très beaux et les voix d’hommes apportent une intensité pleine de ferveur. Les hommes se rendent à la mosquée à l’heure d’une prière traditionnelle et déposent la personne défunte dans une pièce attenante à la mosquée (ce qui correspond chez les catholiques à la sacristie). Lorsque la prière est finie, l’imam annonce qu’un homme ou une femme est mort. A ce moment-là une brève prière, de quatre versets est récitée. Ensuite l e défunt est enseveli sur le côté droit, côté sacré chez les musulmans. Les femmes viendront au cimetière le lendemain.

La tradition veut qu’il y ait 5 prières par jour mais à Fès il y a en a une qui est soulignée deux fois à 20 minutes d’intervalle c’est le seul endroit où cette pratique à lieu.
Dernier détail. Si vous passez dans la médina le jeudi, vous pourrez aspirer des volutes d’encens que les ménagères font bruler afin d’assainir spirituellement leur foyer, mais aussi pour lutter contre le mauvais œil. C’est dans cette intention que vous verrez des mains de Fatima sur certaines des portes.
Ces ferrures représentent les cinq doigts mais il y a aussi deux serpents et un scorpion qui remplacent les trois doigts centraux. Nous entrons là dans une autre dimension plus ésotérique. Mais c’est une autre histoire… !